top of page

Band Awards

Every year Towcester Studio Band is proud to recognise individual players who have made an exceptional contribution to the band.  Categories of the annual awards are:

Young Bandsperson of the Year - W J Bell Award

Most Improved Player of the Year - Joe Hickey Award

Bandsperson of the Year - Tom Knowlton Award


W J Bell - a member of the Bell family who was so influential in the band’s history. Mr Bell became Bandmaster in 1919 and reformed the band after WW2.  Recipients of this award are selected by the Committee to recognise achievements made during the year in terms of their contribution to the Band.


Joe Hickey learned to play the cornet at Towcester Studio Band from the age of 8 but was already an accomplished drummer. Joe was a fine musician and much loved member of the band who played with band on cornet, soprano and even on drums for many years until he moved with his family to Eire in the 1990's.  The Band was devastated when Joe died  in 2015 aged only 58.  This Award was donated by Joe’s family and will ensure that he is never forgotten.  Recipients of Joe’s award are selected by the Musical Director and recognised improvement made during the year.


Tom Knowlton was one of the group of visionary players who ensured the band’s future following the end of the War.  For more than 50 years, Tom served the band on Bass Trombone and on Eb Bass and on the Committee.  Tom lived a long life dedicated to the community of Towcester and this award was donated by Tom’s family to recognise his love for brass banding in Towcester.  Recipients of Tom’s award are selected by the members, who nominate and vote for the winner.

Most Improved Player : Joe Hickey Award
2016: Ryan Tarratt
2017: Bethany Rees
2018: Ewan Rigby
2019: Mark Limbert
 Gail Devlin-Jones / Helen Smith (Joint)

Bandsperson of the year : Tom Knowlton Members Award
2016: Keith Muggeridge
2017: Jess Martin
2018: Chris Stevens / Lyn Stoneman (Joint)
2019: Lauren Cook
2022: Dave Howard 

Young Bandsperson of the Year - W J Bell Award

2021 : Tash Jardine
2022 : Holly Winspear

bottom of page